Restaurant Review: Mabel Gray

What I love about my boyfriend, Kevin, is that he never fails to surprise me with amazing dining experiences every time we’re together. During my last visit to Detroit, he told me right when I got off the plane he made dinner reservations for the following night but wouldn’t tell me where. I just love surprises, it makes me get excited for the occasion.

The night of the surprise dinner finally arrived and Kevin drove us to Mabel Gray in Hazel Park, MI which is a quiet town with a population of 16,422 (census 2010).Mabel Gray, ran by Chef Rigato, reflects the renaissance of the Michigan food scene where they feature ethical ingredients that reflect the region. Of course, I was intrigued to see Chef Rigato’s interpretation of Michigan’s food scene after learning this.

We finally pulled into a parking lot of an understated building with dimmed lights peering out. Once we entered, we were greeted warmly by the hostess. While the waiting area can be a bit cramped, we were seated shortly after checking in.


I immediately notice the menu and love the personalization of the menu. I love the penmanship of whoever wrote up that up! Everything on that menu seems tantalizing, spotting items such as Serrano ham, scallops, saffron and crispy duck wings. When my eyes met Kevin’s, we knew the tasting menu was the way to go. Ben, our server, told us that the chef creates the menu on the spot so its a total surprise, which excited us even more

The tasting menu is a 6-course meal, but we ended up getting an extra dessert since we were willing to work with our server to create space for a larger party by moving to a different table. I have to say, I really enjoyed chatting with Ben. He seems very knowledgeable about the food scene not only in Detroit, but in other cities such as my home, Seattle.

img_2556
Good Christian, baked oyster with breadcrumbs, Michigan pumpkin soup, grilled octopus poached in white wine, “surf & turf”, lemon granita topped with pomegranate and mint, Colorado lamb topped with grain mustard over sauerkraut and kimchee reduction, apple pie and a bonus dessert: pot de creme.

The entire meal blew me away. I started off with a cocktail called the Good Christian, since one of the ingredients listed St George spiced pear in this tasty concoction. Our first course finally arrived, which was a baked oyster with breadcrumbs on a bed of salt. I’m normally not a fan of cooked oysters, since I think it takes away from the essence of the meat but I like that you can still taste hints of the ocean.

The highlight of the tasting menu was the Colorado lamb. This was one of the best lamb dishes I have ever ate and I love that this was different from the usual pairing of lamb and mint sauce (which I also love). The grilled octopus poached in white wine was another great dish, with the meat being so tender and packed with flavor.

Kevin and I did end up with a bonus dessert since we cooperated with our server to switch tables to accommodate a larger party. It was a nice gesture and I actually preferred the decadent pot de creme over the apple pie, which was a nice comfort dessert.

I was extremely satisfied with Mabel Gray’s tasting menu. I enjoy the chef’s creations and the price is so worth the multi-course meal. Mabel Gray is a wonderful gem in the Greater Detroit area and I recommend making reservations to experience

Interested in more Detroit recommendations? Check out my list here!

 

Leave a comment